Spread the love

The Nigeria Ministers of Interior are appointed by the President of Nigeria. The Ministry of Interior is a Federal Government body that emanated from the Ministry of Internal Affairs that was established in 1957. The name of this ministry was changed from Ministry of Internal Affairs to Ministry of Interior in 2015 due to merger of both Ministry of Internal Affairs and the Ministry of Police Affairs.

The following security agencies are under the Ministry of Interior:

  • Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS).
  • Nigeria Fire Service
  • National Intelligence Agency (NIA).
  • Nigeria Prisons Service (now Nigeria Correctional Service) and
  • Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC).
  • All other agencies and paratastatals are also under this ministry.

The mandate of Ministry of Internal Affairs is to foster the maintanance of internal security and citizenship integrity for the promotion of good governance in Nigeria. Whenever the Head of State or the President didn’t appoint a Minister for the Ministry of Police Affairs, the Minister of Interior supervise the Ministry of Police Affairs.

Further, over the years there had been some amendments in it functions. Equally, the Federal Government Gazette number 63 Volume 70 of 6th December, 1983 assigned the following statutory functions or roles to the ministry:

  • Matters relating to control and strengthening of the entry and exit points across Nigeria national borders.
  • Prevention of the entry of undesirable elements into Nigeria.
  • Announcement of public holiday.
  • Marriage registration and issuance of marriage certificate.
  • Registration of security guards firm.
  • Registration of voluntary organization.
  • Issuance of citizenship certificate to foreigners that want become Nigeria citizen, and host of other related functions or roles.

Nigeria Ministers of Interior

These Are The List of Nigeria Ministers of Interior from 1957 till date:

1. Joseph Modupe Johnson

Minister of Interior

(Aug. 1957 – 1959)

2.  Alhaji Usman Sarki

Minister of Interior

(1959 – 1964)

3. Alhaji Usman Aliyu Shehu Shagari

Nigeria Ministers of Interior

(1965 – Jan. 1966)

• Alhaji Shettima Ali Monguno

AirForce and Internal Affairs (State)

4. Alhaji Abdulrahman Howeiday

Special Duties & Internal Affairs

Permanent Secretary

(Jan. 1966 – Jul. 1966)

5. Ibrahim Tahir

Minister of Interior

(Mar. 1976 – Oct. 1979)

6. Alhaji Maitama Sule

Nigeria Ministers of interior

(Dec. 1979 – 1981)

• Mrs. Janet Akinrinade – State

(1979 – 1982)

• Nwandidirimeziah K. Asinobi – State

(1982 – 1983)

Stay with me now…

7. Brigadier General Muhammed Magoro

Minister of Interior

(1984 – 1985)

8. John Nanzip Shagaya

Minister of Interior

(1985 – 1990)

9. Major General Abdullahi Mamman Bagudu

Minister of Interior

(1990 – 1991)

10. Lambert Gowon

Minister of Interior

(1991 – 1992)

11. Dr. Tunji Oladeji Olagunju

Minister of Interior

(1992 – 1993)

12. Alhaji Abdulrahman Okene

Minister of Interior


13. Chief Ezekiel Yusuf

Nigeria minister of interior

(Aug. 1993 – Nov. 1993)

14. Alex Ibru

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(1993 – 1995)

15. Babagana Kingibe

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(1996 – 1997)

16. Bashir Dalhatu

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(1997 – 1998)

Don’t stop reading now because…

Read: Nigeria Second Republic Governors

17. Professor Musa Yakubu

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(1998 – May 1999)

18. Sunday M. Afolabi

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(1999 – 2000)

19. Muhammed Shata

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(2000 – 2003)

20. Iyorcha Ayu

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(Jul. 2003 – Jun. 2005)

21. Oluyemi Adeniji

Nigeria Ministers of Interior

(Jun. 2006 – May 2007)

• Abubakar Tanko – State

22. Major General Godwin Osagie Abbe (Rtd.)

Nigeria Ministers of Interior

(Jul. 2007 – Jul. 2009)

• Shettima Mustapha – State

(Jul. 2007 – Mar. 2010)

• Hassan Haruna – State

(Jul. 2007 – Oct. 2008)

Demola Rasaq SerikiState

(2009 – Mar. 2010)

23. Navy Capt. (Rtd.) Emmanuel Ihennacho

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(2010 – 2011)

24. Patrick Abba Moro

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(2011 – 2015)

25. Abdulrahman Dambazau

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(2015 – 2019)

26. Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola

Nigeria Minister of Interior

(2019 till date)

Nigeria Ministers of Interior mandate are to foster the maintanance of internal security and citizenship integrity for the furtherance of good governance.

The following paratastatals and agencies are under the jurisdiction of Nigeria ministers of Interior. They include:

  1. Civil Defence, Correctional, Fire and Immigration Board (CDCFIB).
  2. Federal Fire Service
  3. Nigeria Correctional Service – NCOS (formerly Nigerian Prisons Service)
  4. Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC)
  5. Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS)

We diligently research and continuesly update our information. Please let us know if you find any error(s).

Thank YOU for reading!

7 thoughts on “Nigeria Ministers of Interior”

  1. You made some respectable points there. I appeared on the internet for the difficulty and located most people will go along with together with your website. Coral Donavon Linda

  2. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content! Inez Bertrand Saleem

  3. You have made some decent points there. I checked on the web for additional information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site. Allyn Theodore Samuella

  4. A person essentially lend a hand to make significantly posts I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point? I surprised with the research you made to make this actual post extraordinary. Great activity! Natalina Felice Severson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *