Spread the love

Military officers sacked by Obasanjo was done after taking oath of office.  Military officers sacked by was done on June 1999 when he was the president of Nigeria. Olusegun Obasanjo retired over one hundred military and police officers.  Military officers sacked are by Obasanjo are those that held political offices since 1985 till May 28, 1999. They consisted of military (and police officers) who are former military state governors, former ministers and chairmen of board of governors who were military men.

Military Officers Sacked by Obasanjo

According to President Olusegun Obasanjo spoke person, Doyin Okupe “The retirements are in keeping with the pledge made by the president in his inaugural speech on May 29,1999 to initiate a far reaching  measures that will  ensure that the permanent subordination of the military to civil authority and ensure that the Nigerian Armed Forces regain their pride and professionalism” He said further, the retirement do not indict or cast aspersions on the integrity of the retired military and police officers. Rather it should be seen as some of the sacrifices that had to be made to guarantee the survival of democracy in Nigeria.

“To achieve a clean break from the years of military incursion into politics which have been an unmitigated disaster for the nation and discourage any into the polity by men of the Armed Forces”.

So far this article has focused briefly military officers sacked by Obasanjo and why they were retired by President Olusegun Obasanjo in 1999.

In the next section, I’ll be dealing with the list of the military officers sacked by Obasanjo.

These are the List of Military and Police Officers Retired by President Olusegun Obasanjo

Major General

1. Major General S. O. G. Ango

Former Comptroller General of Nigeria

Customs Service.

2. Major General Bashir Salihi Magashi

He is Nigeria present Minister of Defence.

Read also: Gout Treatment

Brigadier General

3. Brigadier General Yakubu Mua’zu

4. Brigadier General Abu Ali

5. Brigadier General Ibrahim Aliyu

6. Brigadier General Muhammed Manna

7. Brigadier General Muhammed Buba Marwa

8. Brigadier General Olagunsoye Oyinlola

Former Civilian Governor of Osun state.

9. Brigadier General Cletus K. Komein

10. Brigadier General Dominic O. Oneya

11. Brigadier General Bassey Asuquo

12. Brigadier General Chinyere I. Nwosu

13. Brigadier General Salihu T. Bello


14. Colonel Dauda Musa Komo

15. Colonel Umar Farouk Ahmed

16. Colonel Jubril Bala Yakubu

17. Colonel Rasheed Shekoni

18. Colonel Theophilus O. Bamigboye

19. Colonel Augustine Ifeanyi Aniebo

20. Colonel Habibi Idris Shuaibu

21. Colonel Bzigu Lassa Afakriya

22. Colonel Paul Uzoama Omeruo

23. Colonel John I. Ubah

24. Colonel Mike E. Attah

25. Colonel Bala Muhammed Mande

26. Colonel Musa Sheikh Shehu

27. Colonel Musa Muhammed

28. Colonel Muhammed Inuwa Bawa

29. Colonel Peter Asum Ogar

30. Colonel Moses Fasanya

31. Colonel Ahmed Usman

32. Colonel Lucky Mike Torey

33. Colonel Sule M. Ahman

34. Colonel Yohanna Dickson

35. Colonel Daniel Akintode

36. Colonel Aina Joseph Awoniyi

37. Colonel Tanko Zubairu

Lietenant Colonel

38. Lieutenant Colonel Abubakar Sidiq Zakari Maimalari

39. Lieutenant Colonel Joseph Iorshagher  Akaagerger

40. Lieutenant Colonel Ahmadu G. Hussaini

41. Lieutenant Colo

nel Anthony Obi

42. Lieutenant Colonel Paul Edor Obi

43. Lieutenant Colonel David John Dung

Navy Commodore

44. Navy Commodore Emmanuel Acholonu

45. Navy Commodore Walter Feghabo

46. Navy Commodore Kayode Olofin-Moyin

47. Navy Commodore Temi Ejoor

Read also: Premature Ejaculation Treatment

Navy Captain

48. Navy Captain Rasheed Adisa Raji

49. Navy Captain Musbau Atanda Yusuf

50. Navy Captain Joe A. Kalu-Igboama

51. Navy Captain Benson Adewumi Agbaje

52. Navy Captain Anthony Ibe Onyearugbulum

53. Navy Captain Christopher Osondu

54. Navy Captain Anthony Udofia

55. Navy Captain Ominiyi Caleb Olubolade

56. Navy Captain Oladipo Philip Ayeni

Air Commodore

57. Air Commodore Ibrahim Dada

58. Air Commodore Ibrahim Kefas

Group Captain

59. Group Captain Rafiu Garba

60. Group Captain Joshua O. Obafemi

61. Group Captain John Ibiwari Ben

62. Group Captain Eyepeiyah John Ebiye

63. Group Captain Baba Adamu Iyam

64. Group Captain Baba Adamu Iyam

65. Group Captain Sam Ewang

Wing Commander

66. Wing Commander Abdul Adamu Mshelia

67. Wing Commander James Yana Kalau

68. Wing Commander Lawal Ningi Haruna

69. Wing Commander Abdullahi Ibrahim

Assistant General of Police

70. Assistant Inspector of General (AIG) Simeon Olasunkan Oduoye

He was a former Senator from Osun State.

71. Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) Dayo Aliyu

72. Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) Amen Edore Oyakhire

Commissioner of Police

73. Commissioner of Police Mustapha Ismail

74. Commissioner of Police Habu Daura

75. Major General Patrick Aziza

Okupe said although Obasanjo administration “appreciate that most of the the affected officers had political appointments thrust on them as routine military postings, it must be made clear that such postings, it must be made that such postings in the future put the careers of officers in jeopardy”. In the future, all officers of our armed forces must recognize that the ultimate reward for taking part or benefiting from coups will be premature or forced retirement from service in the minimum” Okepe warned.

He continued, by saying that the move to retire the officers was to “achieve clean break from the years of military incursion into politics that have been an unmitigated disaster for the nation and to discourage any future foray into the polity by the men of the Armed Forces”

Former Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General Ishaya Bamayi also urged the Federal Government to Flush out  “ambitious officers” if democracy is to survive in Nigeria. On the contrary, former Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral Jibril Ayinla disagreed. To him “there is nothing wrong in allowing wrong in allowing officers to stay behind in the military. Their experiences could be of immense use to the new administration”.


I have no regret retiring politically exposed military officers – Obasanjo


We deligently research and continuesly update our information. Please let us know, if you find any error(s).

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *