Spread the love

The State Security Service (SSS) is also known as the Department of State Service (DSS) or the “Secret Police”. This security organization manages domestic intelligence.

The State Security Service (SSS) mission is to protect and defend Nigeria against any domestic threats. To uphold and enforce, criminal laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The Department of State Service (DSS) is charged with the protection of the President, Vice President, Senate President, Speaker of the House of Representatives, State Governors ( and their first class families), other government officials, past presidents and their spouses, visiting foreign Head of States and government.

This organization adapts constantly to different roles brought about by elvolving security threats in Nigeria including counter-terrorism and counter insurgency. This organization is previously known as the National Security Organization (NSO). The State Security Service (SSS) or Department of State Service (DSS) is headed by a  Director-General(DG).

Below are The List of Pasts and Present Director-General of the State Security Service:


Maj. Gen. Abdullahi Muhammed

DG. NSO, 1976-Oct.1979


Umaru Shinkafi

DG. NSO,Oct. 1979-Nov. 1983


Ambassador Muhammed L. Rafindadi

DG,NSO,Jan. 1984-Aug.1983

Read also: Premature Ejaculation Herbal Treatment


Ismaila Gwarzo

June 1986 – Sept. 1990


 Albert K. Horsefall

Sept. 1990 – Oct. 1992


Peter Nwaduah

1992 – 1998


Col. Lateef K. Are – Retired

1999 – Aug. 2007


Afakriya A. Gadzama

Aug. 2007 – Sept. 2010

Read also: Pasts and Present Clerks of The National Assembly


Ita Esien Ekpeyong

Sept. 2010 – July 2015


Lawal Musa Daura

Jul. 2015 – Aug. 2018


Matthew Seiyefa

Acting Director General

Aug. 2018 – Sept. 2018


  Yusuf M. Bichi

Sept. 2018 till date

We diligently research and continuesly update our information. If you find any error(s), please let us know.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *